Attention: You are using an outdated browser, device or you do not have the latest version of JavaScript downloaded and so this website may not work as expected. Please download the latest software or switch device to avoid further issues.



The Puffin Nation Student Journalism Conference hosted by The New School brings speakers from various media outlets nationwide to talk to student journalists. Apply by May 1 to secure a seat!

The ninth annual Puffin Nation Student Journalism Conference will bring together the next generation of independent journalists to discuss how to cover politics, politicians, movements, messages and culture. All college students at two and four year schools are welcome to apply. Speakers include Elie Mystal, Katrina vanden Heuvel, Laila Al-Arian, Sarah Aziza, Amy Littlefield, Rainesford Stauffer, Jake Bittle, Dave Zirin, Bhaskar Sunkara, Ken Klippenstein, Lizzy Ratner, Samantha Schuyler and more to be announced soon.

The conference is entirely free of charge for all accepted applicants. It takes place at The New School, founded in 1919 to advance academic freedom, tolerance, and experimentation. Breakfast, lunch and an evening reception are included. Travel reimbursements (within the US) via wire transfer and a small number of free housing spots (doubles) are available. If seeking travel funding or housing, please apply ASAP. All attendees receive a free subscription to The Nation. (Conference address: Theresa Lang Student Center, The New School, Second Floor, 55 West 13th Street.) Learn more here!

APPLICATION: In a cover letter of not-more-than 250 words, tell us where you’re from, where you go to school and why you want to attend this conference. Please also let us know if you’d like to attend in-person or virtually and if you need a travel grant and/or housing. These are two separate things. Please include one published piece of journalism. All material should be in either Microsoft Word (.doc, .docx) or PDF format.  All applications will be acknowledged and considered on a rolling basis until May 1. Email applications to [email protected]

ELIGIBILITY: All matriculating college and university students in both the United States and abroad are eligible, including those graduating in spring, 2024. High school students are welcome to attend via live-stream. Young writers of traditional college age not in school are also encouraged to apply. Email [email protected] with any questions.

This website is powered by